About Us

     Sichuan University is a national key university directly under the Ministry of Education, which was established through "merger" of the former Sichuan University (1896), the former Chengdu University of Science and Technology (1954), and the former West China University of Medical Sciences (1910). It is also a high-level research-oriented comprehensive university with a national priority of construction in western China.

Sichuan University consists of 35 colleges and schools with a comprehensive range of disciplines covering 12 categories: humanities, science, engineering, medicine, economy, management, law, history, philosophy, agriculture, education and art. A total of 47 disciplines have been authorized by the state to grant doctoral degrees. Altogether, the university offers 38 professional degree programs, 37 post-doctoral research stations, 46 national key disciplines, 4 national key cultivated disciplines, and 45 national key clinical specialties. It’s listed into the first batch of national engineering doctoral training units. Today, the university has more than 37,000 ordinary undergraduate students, more than 28,000 master and doctoral students, and nearly 4,500 international students from foreign countries and students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan.

Sichuan University takes pride in its large pool of faculty members and its strong strength in research and development. By the end of 2019, there were 4,527 full-time teachers and 16 academicians with the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering. Now it has 1 national key sci-tech facility, 4 key national laboratories, 2 national engineering technology research centers, 1 national center for applied mathematics, 2 national clinic medic research center, 1 national engineering laboratory, 3 national-regional joint engineering laboratories, 1 national-regional joint engineering research center, 5 national international sci-tech cooperation bases, 1 national key defense discipline laboratory, 1 frontier science center of the Ministry of Education, 10 key laboratories of the Ministry of Education, 7 engineering research centers, 2 key laboratories of the National Health Commission, 52 key laboratories, engineering centers and scientific research bases of Sichuan Province, 1 national high-end Think Tank cultivation unit, 4 humanities and social sciences key research bases under the Ministry of Education.

Sichuan University insists on opening-up and continuously promotes international exchanges and cooperation. At the moment, it has established exchange and cooperation relationship with 306 internationally renowned universities and research institutions in 38 countries/regions, including the United States, Canada, Australia, and regions of Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan.

Go Top